Windmill 'De Korpershoek', Schipluiden

'Korpershoek' = two words = 'Korpers-HOOK'
'Schipluiden' also sounds like two words = 'SHKHip-LEIdun' with a touch of 'u' or 'SHKHip-LAUWdun' with a touch of 'i'.
So now you know where the English word 'skipper' comes from, because 'schip' is a ship, so of course a 'shkhipper' would be the captain.  Easy as pie.  A 'shipper' is something else entirely, as you know.

Left in the afternoon and thought of the Utrecht area because I'd been going there in the past week or so, but the skies above Zuid Holland were practically sparkling and that determined my choice of direction.  As for my choice of windmill -- too many to think of, so I opted for Schipluiden because I hadn't been there for about 6 years and wanted to see it again.  I shot this at the time, but the weather was so bad and the angle so close, so hoped for a better shot today.  When I got home and uploaded the bunch for post-processing, I discovered that I had lost about half a dozen of the side-view shots due to some defect in the memory card which meant I couldn't upload properly.  I'm lucky, then, to have got the first 15 shots in.  Will return another time, possibly tomorrow, to retake.  The sun was behind the mill, which is why it's a bit dark, but the weather was really, really good.

AW left for Monday live bridge and I spent the evening gaming intensely.  I also used the time to clean in the kitchen and got it all done, so no time wasted.

I'm upset about the developments in Afghanistan, but also about how some people are still putting everyone at risk with their COVID-19 nonchalance.  The situation will be manageable one day, I don't doubt it, but staying safe these days is the best insurance you can give yourself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.