Wet, wet and windy

When I was presented with the impressive output of Melbourne city's marketing team I marked on a map all the places that sounded interesting. Each day I've been to places near each other (which means that I haven't used public transport much but have walked and walked and walked). What I didn't know was that my pleasant walk through the park to the Botanic Gardens was going to fall on a day like today with thunderous clouds and tempestuous winds. So I hung around much longer than I would otherwise in the shelter of the National Gallery of Victoria whose waterwall offers the satisfying experience of soddenness in the dry.

In a lull I walked to the Botanic Gardens and arrived just as it started to pelt. Oh well - at least coffee has been invented. I braved outdoors again when there was space between the raindrops, having been assured that I was less at risk here of falling branches than anywhere else in Melbourne because the trees in the Botanic Garden are regularly inspected by arboriculturalists. Well, sorry, but they missed a few, which fortunately also missed me. I was relieved to get back to the tall buildings and covered lanes.

This is my last post before time-zone sliding back to the UK. 23.5 hours on a plane. Eurgh. See you on the other side. Meanwhile: what to photograph when you've taken everything else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.