dfb24

By dfb24

Man-Made....

....definitely! I went to mass this morning, and since they're working on the parking lot, I parked on the street. When I came out, I found this little note tucked into the drivers' side window of my car. I just had to laugh! In most cities here in the US, each house has a walk-way that goes from your front door down to the main sidewalk. The main sidewalk runs parallel to all the houses & runs the length of each block. Between that parallel sidewalk and the road is grass. I was clearly parked in a legal parking area on the road and there wasn't any sidewalk to block since it runs parallel to my car, so all I could conclude was that it had to be some crochety old man (although he WAS polite, in that he wrote "please") that doesn't like anyone parking in front of his home. I looked up and as I did, I saw the guy peeping out, and when he saw me looking at him, he promptly let the window blind fall back into place, which made me laugh all over again, as he obviously wanted to make sure I'd read it. So I waved to him, got in the car and drove off. This must be the week for "car confrontations", as when I parked in the Summerfest lot on Sunday, I pulled into an empty spot, and as I pulled in, the woman in the parked car to my right started to open her car door, but then saw me and waited until I'd pulled in. I got out and started walking, only to hear the man who'd been in the car with the woman start yelling at me. He called me a "stupid moron" for not waiting until his wife got out of the car before I'd pulled in. I told him his car had already been parked there as I came past it, the sun was shining on their windows so I couldn't see inside of it & didn't even realize there were people inside until his wife had started to open the door. He just wouldn't stop yelling. His wife was trying to calm him down and he told her to "shut up". His son, who I'd guess was around 16, was standing off to the side. I've taken care of a lot of men just like him over my years of nursing; you can tell right away that they're bullies and if you argue they escalate with great relish, (that poor wife to have to put up with him!) so to diffuse the situation, I said I apologized for upsetting him, and that I was so sorry that I hadn't paid attention & that luckily his wife saw me coming & waited. But he just wouldn't stop, and his wife & son kept giving me this look that clearly said "I'm so sorry", so I calmly said to the guy: "I've apologized several times already, so I'm not sure what else you're expecting." So he turned around and walked away. Once his back was turned, his son walked over to me,  shook my hand & said he and his mom were really sorry about this. Some people are just so out of control!! It might be best if I stay out of the car the rest of the week until my luck turns! Lol. Thanks to H0tamer for hosting TinyTuesday. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.