Frontier

By Frontier

Signs

obli - Hold It

Had a wonderfully rare day off with my wife. She’s funny. I was cleaning my Jabra Elite 75t ear phones and was a little too enthusiastic. I pierced the bass drivers trying to clean out the wax. It was a horrific experience to put them back in the ears only to hear all the bass stripped away from the music. The highs were also distorted slightly on some songs. It worked but it sounded like crap, as far as I’m concerned. 1.7 years of constant musical companionship (and bass), down the drain with my own recklessness.

I couldn’t believe it, I felt naked without the music and in disbelief that they were “gone”. I tried several times to reset, disconnect and reconnect in the hopes that the bass and sound quality would magically return. They did not. As I held both earbuds in my hands to reset them, my wife laughed (quite enthusiastically I might add) because it looked like I was losing a friend and sad they were going. Very kawaisou (sad and pitiful).

Needless to say, it was an immediate (after giving up) trip to the shop to buy the next level up, the Jabra Elite Active 75ts (the 85ts were too expensive and doesn’t have the same sound signature I like). I’d buy the Sennheiser True Wireless Momentum 2s but they’re more than double the price and I’m already at home with the Jabra app, features and sleek design. Plus I already have two pairs of Sennheiser head phones for DJing (one of which is the HD205 that I got when I first started DJing in Australia and the HD8 when I really got into it in 2015, those are still brilliant). If v-moda had a pair of wireless earbuds, I’d get them immediately.

I spent the evening listening to Hi-Res Lossless music on Apple Music with my V-Moda M-100 Airas and that sound is awesome. Listening to the 2019 Mix of The Beatles’ Abbey Road was insane. The strings on Something are so vivid and beautiful. George Harrison’s voice had strain and clarity that I never heard before. The Stereo and Mono re-releases of the album (yes, I have both sets on CD but not vinyl yet) I thought were the best, but not now. Geez, how will this keep improving? Obviously beyond my time. Also listened to Underworld (Second Toughest…) and Leftfield’s Rhythm & Stealth. Will listen to Prince’s Purple Rain remastered later.

Ahhhhh…. These little things. My wife is supportive but shows complete disinterest because she’s not into this audio / music stuff as I am. Fair enough… :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.