rower2012

By rower2012

Adelaide Rosella

The Adelaide Rosella (Platycercus adelaidae) is endemic to South Australia. This was thought to be a separate species, but is presently believed to have originated through interbreeding of the Crimson and Yellow Rosellas.

Both of these still interbreed with the Adelaide Rosella where its range crosses theirs, and it exhibits variation in its plumage from dark orange-red in the south where we are, to a pale orange-yellow in the north.

More colour.

Although the ranges of the Crimson and Yellow Rosellas overlap along the length of the River Murray, in this area they seem to prefer different habitats and do not interbreed.

I am extremely pleased that I spotted this very attractive parrot sitting in the tree in front of my office window, just off the deck. This means that I have a new bird for Big Blip Year.

My thanks to all of you for helping my hungry duck from yesterday to hit the Blipfoto spotlight.

You may recall that back on January 4th I blipped my old Mamiya 6x7 film camera. The Australian guy who has been negotiating with me (and his wife!!) finally made a decision to buy it this week. We are very happy as that means more money towards the next new lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.