YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

In A Quiet Country Churchyard

In a quiet country churchyard I today visited the grave of my great great grandfather William Stout for the very first time.  My half cousin has been doing some family research and found information that his grave was at Castleside cemetery beside Consett.  This is about 13 miles from where I live.

The inscription on the grave reads as follows:

In Affectionate Remembrance Of William Stout of Castleside
Who Departed This Life November 3rd November 1872 Aged 50 Years
In Life Respected 
In Death Lamented

Also William Son Of The Above 
Who Departed This Life May 24th May 1871 Aged 15 Months

So as well as it being at the grave of my great great grandfather it is also the grave of my great uncle.  

William was a leadminer and the cause of death given on his death certificate was Intussusception which is a perforated bowel.  His little son died from inflammation of the brain.  Heartbreaking.  

William was married to Harriet who was present at both the death of her husband and son.  Shortly after William died it appears that she and her two remaining children (one being my great grandfather) moved away from the area to Blyth (about 40 miles away).  

Until my half cousin visited the grave I don't think anyone in the family would have visited it for decades and decades.  I must admit that I did find my visit very emotional

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.