An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

TarraWarra

I took myself off for a rare treat today - a visit to the TarraWarra Art Gallery (and winery) in Healesville in the Yarra Valley, to see the Jeffery Smart exhibition. It's been on for months and finishes next week, so I thought it was time I went. A pleasant day, with lunch in Healesville and the usual round of op shops whilst I was there.

Because of my reluctance to take photographs in public places, I missed the best shot, which was of two older ladies sitting facing each other on this bench, in animated conversation. Whipping out your camera in an exhibition is not a good idea and you are likely to be swooped on by 'security'. I don't think they noticed me, as I was pointing my camera well away from the artworks and had my back to them. I did see them pounce on someone pointing their phone at a painting... though I think the chance of someone making a decent print from a phone camera and trying to pass it off as an original Jeffery Smart is a bit unlikely... but as an artist who occasionally exhibits, I am very aware of the real threat cameras in exhibitions can be, probably more so for the 'unheard ofs' like myself than the well known artists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.