Our Little Town

The rain has certainly charged up the river.  As we spend our last couple of days here, I began thinking of the things I will miss and those I won't.
Top of the Miss List are of course the wonderful friendships we've made - oh so many. The beautiful country roads and the small town feel where everyone is willing to help, including our realtor who offered to come and help clean after everything is moved out.  I will miss this picturesque river in all it's stages and the quiet days and nights in our little piece of this world, the darkness where you can't see your hand in front of your face, but you can hear the owls who, who, whooing.

I won't miss the dirt road we live on, or the May snow storms, or the biting black flies in May when you finally can get out to enjoy some spring.  I won't miss the mosquitoes that follow them (though there may be some of these in NC).  I certainly won't miss the 30 minute ride to the store or business other than the General Store (in Extra which sells almost everything at 3 times the price of the larger stores, but it's good to have.  

I will miss our favorite house of all time and the memories, mostly good here.  I know we'll make new ones and find all the wonderful things about our new home and I look forward to sharing them with you - first though we have to get our stuff loaded onto the "Pod".  The movers who were supposed to show up today did not, one of their crew had to have a Covid test and so they cancelled coming.  We luckily found a new crew for tomorrow, but it did gum things up a bit.

Thank you all for being patient with my lack of commenting - life is hectic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.