Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

It's Over...

.... Not as dramatic as it seems but one of our newbies on the shift has finally completed his 3 year probationary period.

I was assigned by our gaffer to be a mentor to Dave (poor lad!!) with the idea that I would pass on my wealth of experience to him (poor lad!!)

But as he was already a retained Firefighter before joining the wholetime, he came with a good knowledge base which thankfully made my job a whole lot easier.

The newbies are given these diamond stickers which they have to fix to the side of their helmets to distinguish them from the rest of us qualified chaps..... So today they were "ripped off" and dually burned..

He's got a great future ahead of him and for what I've seen of him so far, he has the potential to go high up in the career ladder.

But in the meantime I'll keep on enjoying working along side him and I'm sure that very soon he'll be teaching an "old dog" some new tricks!!

The very best to you Dave!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.