Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Arts and Crafts house in the snow, Huddersfield.

I am new to this - how do you decide on just one photo on a day like today, when the snow has transformed the world?

As predicted, we have heavy snow, and the schools are closed so we headed out for breakfast (bacon 2 days in a row, don't tell my GP). After delicious eggs benedict at Lindleys we walked back with the wind in our faces, but I stopped to take this photo. The house is called Briar Court, designed by Edgar Wood (a leading light in the Arts and Crafts Movement) in 1894. It is a listed building, currently owned by the local council, a treasure hidden from the road by trees. I sneaked up the drive to take a peek, and was rewarded with a Christmas Card scene.

Tomorrow I will venture out with my proper camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.