Summer

Not ideal that my first very full on week after the holidays, including several in person events and festival visits, has coincided with such a stinking cold. Had to drag myself out of bed this morning and keep myself topped up with drugs all day.
Another whirlwind of online meetings, email wrangling and planning, but also time for a bit more chat with J (think she’s starting to feel more at home in the job and get the hang of things) and see Renee Fleming in a lunchtime concert in Old College Quad. Her voice was so rich, really beautiful, and she chatted in a warm and friendly way between pieces. This was her first international performance since the pandemic began and it clearly meant a lot to her to be here with a live audience (especially in such a stunning setting on a spectacularly beautiful summer’s day). Very varied programme and I loved some but I’m not a fan of Strauss and Grieg and there were quite a few of their pieces.
Only one hideous coughing fit and luckily just at the very end, but sunglasses and mask paid off in helping me disappear when I felt like sinking into the ground!
Back to the office for more meetings then over to the book festival to host a reception around the showing of the event we filmed last week. At last I was able to tweet out the results of the competition which I’d nearly done in error during the filming. One of the winners was with us and they were extremely moved to have won…lovely to meet them and such a lovely person.
Left to walk home through the Meadows which people were enjoying on this beautiful sunny evening….gorgeous. We won’t have many more days like this before autumn arrives.
Made a quick salad supper then promptly fell asleep on the sofa….hope I start to feel better soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.