Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cannabis smoke...

A knock on the door last night at 9:20 - we were watching The Good Wife - and it was the parcel I'd been expecting in the morning. Not Royal Mail, obviously. Good service!

It was a pair of desert boots. I used to have a pair while at college and loved them. Only they were known as 'brothel creepers' for some reason. I'd seen them online before and was vaguely tempted to own a pair again. And then the other day they were half price! £10! For one, that is. £20 the pair - can't say fairer than that.

So I sent for a pair of - yes - subtle, pale dusky pinkish ones. But they are not the subtle, pale dusky pinkish colour I thought they would be. They are rather BRIGHT. I am really not sure about them. On my plates of meat, they are very conspicuous. But they ARE comfy. I've been wearing them around the house all morning, trying to decide whether to keep them or not. I keep forgetting and then catching sight of them!

Although I didn't then need to wait in for the post this morning, somehow, I just didn't get up and go swimming... christening the new cossie will just have to wait.

The deadline is approaching for all the arrangements for our house guests. A lot of last minute things to do, but we have Saturday to do them - plenty of time - so I have been in my cupboard dark room. It's dreich outside, and I may suddenly decide to do housework, so I'd better be in the house when that urge comes over me.

I have made a few modifications to my darkroom. The black material I hang up with gaffer tape, which doesn't really work as it keeps falling down, needed further thought. I found some wee bulldog clips and bent one hook back, hammered a few tiny nails in the wardrobe (unseen to any passerby or JR) and voila - easy hang, easy take down.

I thought it was a day for cannabis - my incense stick. I haven't had a smoke (blip) for ages. It wasn't too successful - I couldn't auto focus, and took loads of just-out-of-focus manual ones that looked fine on the camera screen. I kept going too fast for the flash, so it was only every 3 or 4 shots it flashed. I had to delete dozens! Decided to faff around a bit more so I followed a YouTube video on to make it more interesting using the image and flipping it round and adding a colour gradient.

I don't know if it was breathing in cannabis incense sticks all morning, but I kept seeing faces in the smoke so I stopped. I think I will go and hoover to clear my head...

PS I see The Boss has started on More 4. I really recommend it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.