simisue

By simisue

WHAT IS THIS?

I saw this tree, outside my dentist's office, in dappled sunlight.  My best friend also has this tree in her garden, so I have a good idea what it is.

If I am correct, it is a small tree, & a member the Mulberry family. 
It is native to the Mediterranean & western Asia, & has been grown as an ornamental plant & for its fruit since ancient times.  There are 800 members of the subtropical species.  It is cultivated in many places in the world.

This tree grows to  23-33ft (7-10m) tall & has beautiful large leaves with 
3-5 deep lobes.  In this climate, the fruit are in season in late Summer or early Autumn.  It is beautiful even as a garden specimen, but is usually grown for its fruit.

If you have ever eaten the fresh fruit, you might be a fan, just as my friend is.  The fruit is also  dried or processed into jam, made into, cookies & other desserts.  Commercially, Turkey, Egypt & Morocco are the largest producers.

WHAT IS THIS?



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.