Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘Another superb ghost sign…’

Had to take the car up to Marchmont early this morning, to have the exhaust looked at. 

I rather welcomed this opportunity to look round the Southside again - an area that I had known well a few years ago - and to combine it with a quick jog around the Meadows while they were looking at it.

On my way down Marchmont Road towards the Meadows, I came across this superb piece of ghost signage.
‘Meadow Dairy - Persevere - Registered Dairy’
and below - "Aerated Waters".

Originally at 13 Meadow Place, (sign also just discernible) the entrance to the property is today through the stair in round the corner.

And though right next to the Meadows in Edinburgh, ‘Meadow Dairy’ was - 100 years ago - actually a chain of dairies, with around 200 branches spread around Scotland and the north of England.

And my jog? Well, I realised how much slower I am these days - the effect of passing years - but it was great to be back to old haunts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.