Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Adapt and Improvise

I was trained many years ago to “make do” with what the nice man in the stores gave you. The overriding principle being “Adapt and Improvise." It works. Many of us in the Commando Units bought Gucci items to make our lives easier, the real hardballs in the SBS got on with the job, invariably using what they were given; most of it would be junked by the time the task was over, so why wreck good stuff?

While I was in China we sent some engineers on a voyage to Toulouse, in French type France, for Aerospatiale’s technical training. They then arrived in Aberdeen for more training. By then they were desperate for rice, the way they liked it. They adapted and improvised, apparently the company received repetitive complaints from the hotel, “They keep cooking rice in the kettles!!!!” 

My Duracells are not recharging, the mentalometer is pretty low in the morning and discharges throughout the day. Here I am practising what I preach, the battery charger will be null and void next month when we get our new eeeeelectric car, or Vurrrhikcle as the 'Murrikans will have it. Therefore it’s time to try a new trick, wire him up and do a deep charge. The ear defenders, known as ear muffs in service jargon, are to prevent any further hearing damage in case I scream. 

While I was waiting for the Garden Fairy to plug me in I had an idea…….if this screws up we may need a defibrillator. The nearest one is outside the village store, so once again adapt and improvise. It may work, it may not, but at least my shirt will be smooth. 

Incidentally left and right handed screwdrivers are interchangeable and reversible. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.