Laser Quest

Today was time for another trip back to Whitstable, one of mine and my brother's favourite places. My brother has been working so hard over the last few weeks it was great that he has been finally able to get a few days off which meant we were able to go on our mini adventure.
We set off fairly early for us, about 10.30 am and proceeded to follow our usual route until I managed to get us slightly lost (we had already circumnavigated Faversham town centre twice). Have no fear it was time to consult my 2006 Collins Superscale Britain atlas, which resides in my car boot with several pages missing. Alas I was unable to find Whitstable in the glossary at the back (?!) and could therefore not locate the correct map, so my brother suggested using modern technology - Google maps on his smart phone. As if by some kind of magic we were back on the correct route!
After a somewhat extended journey, including the aforementioned detour, road works and the hunt for a parking space we finally set foot outside the car two hours later and headed straight for The Old Neptune pub for a restorative pint looking out to sea with strong summer sunshine glinting across the water. Glorious!
It was then time for a walk along the shoreline in the quest for some images. Today's main image is of the cover on a small boat. I just loved the faded colours and the lichen that had taken root on the surface. Laser is actually a class of single-handed, one design sailing dinghy and I've just remembered that Laser Quest is also an indoor laser tag adventure game which dates back to the 1980"s. Funny how the brain works sometimes!
My first extra image is called C'MON Refreshments and was a closed cafe in a wooden hut which appeared to be selling, when open, £16 cold drinks and £25 snacks! Hopefully an attempt at some seaside humour!
My second extra is of an upturned boat called Dry Rot - not sure I'd want to head to out to sea in this vessel!
We continued our walk out past rows of beach huts, along the shingle beach and then headed back into town and still had to time to visit an art exhibition - where my brother bought a beautiful piece of coloured glass - and have an obligatory ice cream (peanut butter and malteser). 
A fabulous day out and we even managed not to get lost on the way home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.