Out to lunch!

The Evening Wedding reception yesterday was lovely.
It still felt a little strange at times doing something we used to find “normal”.
The wedding itself was earlier in the afternoon with the Wedding Breakfast following.
If took place in a beautiful old restored barn.
Here’s a link to the site. “The Redhouse Barn”. It’s set in beautiful Worcestershire countryside. https://redhousebarn.co.uk/
The whole place looked lovely with its twinkling lights inside and outdoors when we arrived at 7.00pm.
I took lots of photos.
I cannot post any here as there was a notice to ask guests not to post any on Social Media until the bride and groom had seen them.
The bride’s dress was stunning.with a long train and veil. Beautifully embroidered containing lots of tiny pearls.
This isn’t a very good description and the only word I used about it when I saw it was “Stunning!”.
On our arrival the bride and.groom were just in the reception area between the Timber Barn and the room being prepared for the evening entertainment, where they were to cut the cake and have their first dance, in time honoured tradition.
If meant I could have a look at the gorgeous dress close up, and we congratulated them both. The bridegroom (our friend’s son) also looking very dapper!
When everyone was summoned to watch the cutting of the cake, we were ushered in to another restored barn with it’s exposed beams, tables all set out and a small dance floor. The MC respectfully asked that there be only 30 people at a time using it.
Beautifully decorated room with lots of small coloured lights strung about, with floor to roof ceiling height large windows. . All the staff were wearing masks and hand gel stations were everywhere apparent. Ordering drinks, only three allowed at the bar at any one time so there was no crush.
When the First Dance has been taken, I then went back into one of the small
lounge areas where the two of us spent some time chatting with some of the other guests and the grandparents of the groom.
Music is always very loud at evening receptions so it’s nice to “escape” for a bit!
We were later than expected back home, having made excellent time on a by then late evening, fairly quiet motorway.
The problem being that as we were approaching our Junction to leave, it had been closed and the traffic was funnelled into one lane at that point which caused some congestion.
Once past the junction it was back to the normal lanes but we had to go a 20 mile detour (coming off at the next exit) to come back home.
We arrived after midnight.
So a fairly slow day today.
At lunchtime on a Saturday Stephen usually makes pizza, but decided we would go out instead.
The main photo is the pub restaurant dining area. One of our favourites.
Today has been warm, hot even, and sunny. I mowed the bottom lawn when we arrived home and Stephen has been trimming some of the hedges. I did some some desultory tidying in the borders till I decided I would just sit in the sun and enjoy it!
The evenings are becoming shorter now bit by bit.
As I was doing just that our next door octagenarian neighbour Arthur, came to the back gate to very excitedly tell me something. (He encouraged me in my early days of rediscovering French being a fluent speaker).
At first I thought he’s spotted a Woodpecker, but no, he wanted to tell me he had finished the 7th book of Proust’s well known work “À la recherche du temps perdu”
It had taken him 4 years but he had finished it!
He was so excited to tell me!
After he went back next door shuffling down our drive from the back gate (he wouldn’t come in, being reluctant as he has health issues,) I rooted out a toy medal which had a French tricolour ribbon, from a box which contained items for children to use for a “Sports Day” in a garden. Things like coloured cones, bean bags, a finishing tape, and a plastic discus. etc.
I took the medal round and knocked on their front door.
“I’ve brought you a medal “ I said to him in French, “for your amazing achievement”. He was thrilled and we all had a good laugh.
Then I saluted him and Rose, his wife, also fluent in French, said it was a pity we couldn’t play the “Marseillaise”!
Now it’s time for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.