If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Houttuynia cordata

This plant probably has a common name but I have never known it or used it.  It is amazing how week after week I manage to find a blip during the short stroll from the Lodge to the bins.  A distance of maybe 100 m (100 yards ish).

Today these brightly coloured leaves caught my eye.  A little research tells me that one common name is "fish mint".  It is suggested that this name was given because it was used for culinary purposes but had an unusual fishy taste.  It doesn't sound terribly nice to me.

It is a hardy creeping herbaceous perennial.  When growing in the right right conditions it provides a good splash of colour.  Obviously colour will be best in good light but it tolerates shade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.