peterdawson

By peterdawson28

The best laid plans...

...get laid to waste!

Today I should have taken a train up to Chester-le-Street where I had booked an overnight stay ahead of going to the Riverside stadium on Monday to watch the first day of the county championship cricket match between Surrey and Durham.

This would have been a first visit to the ground for me and it's hard to overemphasise how much I was looking forward to it after a particularly grim week at my loathsome job.

So you can imagine my delight when I heard last thing last night that one of the Surrey players had tested positive for covid and as a consequence the entire squad has been placed in isolation leading to the cancellation of the match.

The only glimmer of a silver lining that I can take from this is that although I lost the money for my accommodation at least I'd been too disorganised to pay out for a train ticket in advance.

It's fair to say that I am feeling at a very low ebb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.