Tour de Forth

Woke before my 4.45 alarm around 4.20 and finally got up at 4.30 after around 5 hours sleep. Showered and dressed and crept out of the house so as not to wake my friend and her puppy and headed off to the meeting point for the charity event I was volunteering at.

It’s a cycling event - 2 distances, the shorter round was 35 miles and the longer one 68 miles. The longer route takes the riders over the Fortnrisd bridge, through Fife, southbound over the Lincardine bridge, through West Lothian and bavk to the finish point. The shorter route stays on the south side of the river Forth. I was there to help with registration of the participants and a bit of marshalling and medal Hanover when they finished. Of course the day also included holding up signs so the riders knew where they should wait before being allowed to start, building and taking down gazebos, attaching and taking down signs, moving boxes, directing traffic, cheering, clapping, ringing cowbells and a dozen other little tasks. It wasn’t all work but it was all standing and my legs are really feeling it tonight.

I arrived on-site at 5.30am and left at 4.30pm - a long shift in anyone’s book but it was worth it. The event has raised over £42K for charity.

Collected my daughter from her friend’s flat on the way home. The celebrations after the success of their played had finally finished around 4 but she didn’t fall asleep till 6 so she was a little jaded too. Phin was delighted to see us both home and we enjoyed many wet kisses!

Dinner was a takeaway from the local Italian, GF pasta for Miss PHL, a chip supper for me and a Calzone fir Mr PHL. A lovely bath has relaxed me greatly and I’m about to head to the land of mid. Night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.