SWEARING AT SEAGULLS

This duck was furiously swearing at gulls who were harrassing her and what seemed to be a brand new brood of six ducklings who were all enthusiastically and obliviously exploring their surroundings. When I saw them a few minutes later (extra) she had been joined by a coot who seemed to be helping her to keep the little ones together. I know coots are good parents, so perhaps it was just instinctive on the coot's part to shepherd little fluffy things to safety, but it was sweet to see. Nevertheless, ducklings don't have a good survival record on that pond.

I'd just stopped by on my way back from the dentist where I was told that I need a large and decaying molar extracted next week before it causes further complications. Apparently under "normal" circumstances (what are they?) I'd be referred to have it done under sedation or GA in hospital, but that's not really an option at the moment, so I've got to be a big, brave girl and have my dentist do it in the chair, with enough time for the stitches to disappear and it all to stop hurting before I go on holiday later in the month. And pay a fortune for the privilege. Oh well, at least I can, and there are lots of people who can't get to see a dentist at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.