curns' corner

By curns

Cashless

Like many people I have a jar into which I place small denomination coins when I end up with a pocket full of loose change.  In previous years I have taken them to one of the large automatic sorting machines that can be found in some of the bigger supermarkets. The machines take a commission for doing all the work but you get a voucher to the value of the cash which can either be spent in the shop or redeemed for cash (but in more more easily usage note form).

For most of the last 18 months I’ve had very limited opportunity to go out and spend cash. More-and-more of the shops that could be visited went cashless during the early days of the pandemic in a bid to stop virus transmission . A few days ago I realised that I hasn’t put any small change in the jar recently because I’d moved it into a cupboard as it was not getting used. So, I counted all the small coins.  And then, on a visit to the Post Office earlier this week, I collected some cash bags which were used to gather up the coins.  As I had no meetings this morning I decided that my regular morning walk would be into Wimbledon where there is a branch of my bank.  In the end I deposited £50 which included 4 old one-pound coins which I had but can’t be spent in the shops anymore.  I wish I’d snapped a picture of those before depositing them but, aside from £1 coins, I’m glad the cash has been turned into something more useable.

On my way back I stopped off at the Caffe Nero and this was the sign on the counter.  And this is why I don’t imagine I will ever be putting much change back into that jar ever again.  We are in a cashless world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.