Taking a shot

Not scratching his head. I was walking up the road and saw him taking a few shots. Of course Nosey Nanzy had to ask him what he was focusing on. He's an excellent photographer, has published three books with photos of the island that really show off the beauty here. I've talked with him a few times. He told me that he's starting a new theme of roadside topiary!  He's been interested in how the guys who trim the roadside trees trim branches or the tops of trees to remove any that are a danger to wires but try to keep as much of the trees as possible. I've always been aware of the trees along the road so close to the power lines, but I don't think I'd ever come up with a theme like that. He said that he won't be publishing another book. Maybe he'll post them somewhere. I'll have to google to see. He had a really cool rolleiflex camera and explained how it worked. 
I thought afterwards that I should ask him sometime if he gives classes for amateur photographers!  
What else did I see on my walk?  
Extra #1: sign of the changing season
Extra #2: free DVDs on a table on the side of the road. There was a price on one, but I think that might have been what the current owner paid for it. No cash box in sight. Not tempted by either one. I'm not sure I remember how to use our DVD player!
Extra #3: I've long wanted to get a photo of a kingfisher but they seem to sense that and mock me with their very distinctive call when they fly away as soon as I raise the camera. This one sat still. It's not a good photo at all and very cropped and you might need a magnifying glass to see the kingfisher, but it's likely the best photo I'll ever get of one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.