Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

The Orgues

I saw my nephew off to catch the bus at 6 am. The train had been cancelled as a driver was ill. My nephew returned at 6.30 saying the bus had not turned up which gave me an hour to get dressed and drive the 50 minutes to Perpignan station. I think I got flashed on the way which is annoying but at least he made his TGV. I then drove back to Ille sur Tet and had breakfast in the PMU bar and then a nap by the river before the rest of the walkers turned up. It was a fairly undemanding walk around the garrigue above the well known organ pipes. These cliffs were sculpted by the wind, but other factors came into play to achieve this result: erosion, water flowing from the plateau above to the Têt, the nearby coastal river, and the sun, which burned the clay soil mixed with the crumbly rocks and which gives the horizontal lines of colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.