Today I had a late afternoon meeting with my surgeon to discuss the histology results following surgery. It couldn't have been better news. The results showed no cancer present in either the tumour or lymph nodes!! I don't have cancer anymore!!!!

So what he removed during the op was a mass of scar tissue from the radiotherapy and chemotherapy. The treatment was 100% effective. This only happens in around 20% of cases so this is just so amazing.

I don't really have words to describe the relief, the tears of happiness, how I felt ringing my family and friends to tell them, remembering how awful it was telling people I had cancer. It also feels a bit surreal that it's gone after cancer has dominated our lives for the last 8 months.

Of course I will have to get through several years of monitoring before I can really feel like I'm free of it, but I'm enjoying this victory for now!!

The photo is the view from the mill at Hoton which I went to with Zoe. It's the warehouse for a very expensive kitchen company but they also stock loads of beautiful antiques so I enjoyed having a poke about in there. We also went into Nottingham to have a look at sofa's for Zoe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.