Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Bargains

My mum rang from the car boot sale this morning saying there were lots of the pewter figures Miss E likes. And a stall full of Superdry hoodies. Five minutes later I was in the car and on my way.
Pretty good going as I’d been in bed when she called!!
I’m pleased mum went to the car boot. Something normal and familiar and much better then sitting at home driving yourself mad.
We talked about Dom a lot. Memories. Things he’d have found funny. Things we’d tell him if we could.
I said I’d drive my mum home so we could stay a bit longer and my dad could go home. It was fun browsing. I bought Miss E one of the figures having sent her loads of photos. Nana bought her one too! And she bought Miss L a poppit thing. Because you can’t have enough of those!!! And she bought me a gorgeous Lowry print which will be blipped one day.
We had a couple of rows more to do and I mentioned to my mum that I should have been looking for costume jewellery as I really miss wearing my engagement ring. I had it resized years ago when I lost weight but now can’t get it on because I’m a big fat heifer!! I haven’t worn it for a year or so and had a brainwave the other day to get a costume ring to wear until I can afford to get mine made bigger again.
Literally the next stall had a cabinet full of rings and I found the perfect one. Silver, reminiscent of my engagement ring, with a huge lovely fake diamond and only £9. What a bargain!!!! See extras.
It was meant to be! And we wanted to tell Dom.
I took mum home and had a cup of tea before heading home.
I gave Mr K my new ring and he got down on one knee, held it out and asked me to marry him. It made me bawl way more than it did the first time!!
We took Archie out for a walk in the woods and then lazed around watching TV and eating scrummy burgers with all the trimmings sensationally well cooked by Mr K.
The best caramelised onions ever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.