Bridge 78c - Rochdale Canal

I have had a very varied day today.

This morning I had to drive into Manchester for 8:30 so that I could take a COVID test as I have got my first extras job in 2021starting on Monday. It should be good fun as I have 4 days next week and 1 day the week after. However, the hours are all over the place so I won't know whether I am coming or going. 

The traffic was surprisingly light so I stopped at a Tesco in Failsworth beforehand. It was handily sited next to the canal so I couldn't resist the opportunity of a bridge blip on my iPhone, my first on the Rochdale Canal (and probably my last). I realise the bridge is a fair distance away but the closer I got the more obvious the rubbish in the water. The B&W treatment makes it look a bit better.

After getting home I had time for a quick walk before going over to RSPB Burton for some volunteer work. I had a very enjoyable afternoon in lovely weather with the highlights seeing a kingfisher and hen harrier. I also took my mum along so she could sit in the visitor's centre and enjoy the view and birdlife. 

It was also nice to see Diane2104 and her husband visiting the reserve. Unfortunately, as soon as they stopped for a chat, it got busy so I had to concentrate on other things. Apologies. Hopefully we will get the chance for a proper catch-up next time. 
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 206  -  Highlands 3.3 miles walked  833.2 miles completed


Finally leaving behind Dalwhinnie I walked along General Wade's Military Road parallel to the A9

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.