Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Organising ...

Sorry - that's a pretty dire word-play (or photo-play?) As the damp haar settled over Dunoon this morning, I was out early for the supermarket shop. As usual, I was struck by the business of putting it all away in the larder, and wondered if I was alone in being unwilling to let my larder run down, as it were, in the currently uncertain supply situation. It's not so much stockpiling, really, as just ensuring I don't ever run out of some staple; I'm really stuck in this quiet early morning shop idea so the notion of nipping down the road to replace some vital item has receded to the place reserved for when such events happened freely.

Later in the morning, we were up at the church making a couple of recordings for the online service. Himself does most of the organisation of what we need and what we have already; today we hadn't recorded either of the hymns he was wanting. Before we actually make the recording, he gives me examples of what various combinations on the organ sound like - and writes it down on his copy of the music, so that he doesn't forget it ...

We went out to Benmore Gardens for a relatively short walk in the afternoon; we had dinner insanely early. I had a meeting of the Vestry committee on zoom at 7.30pm, when I was already too tired to think properly. More organising!

Blipping the keyboard of the organ, with the names of the various stops. Playing the organ seems to me to be almost impossible, largely because of the business of coordinating feet and hands, but I love it when Himself lets rip. And there are another couple of hymns in the bag ...

The day ended, by the way, in glorious sunshine. Insane weather for our part of the world, but enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.