Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Mama's pose

I was drawn to the sharp shadows in this pile of rocks on a nearby playground. We were the only people in this corner of the playground, so we felt OK taking off our masks. I said to Bella, "I love these shadows. Let's make some photos here." She obliged and offered me a few "model" poses and then suddenly relaxed into this one. "This is Mama's pose," she said. Sure enough, here's her Mama on Instagram in a very similar pose. I think you can see it without having to log into IG. 

She tells me her Mama has been furiously working for weeks, night and day, making some "school spirit wear" clothing as a fundraiser for the Parent-Teacher Organization, for the families of children who attend the bilingual (Spanish/English) elementary school. Bella has attended this school for five years, and Evan will begin attending this year. Today is the day her mom was going to set up a table for families coming to the school for a "meet and greet the teachers" session. In-person school starts next week, and we are all excited and a little apprehensive. 

Her mom got a one-time gig as fashion designer for a TV commercial today, so the children stayed with me most of the day. Their mom packed all her spirit gear in the car before going to the commercial shoot, then rushed home to take care of the dog, made a flying trip past my house to pick up the children, and then hurried to set up her table at the school. I admire Cristina's energy and enterprise: wonderful to see and feel.

Extras: Evan's contributions to the project. I thought I would love this setup in black and white conversion, but the children's skin tones are so lovely against the rocks, I prefer the color. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.