End of an era?

This is the older of the two bridges at Fareham station. When I came back from the Isle of Wight on Wednesday, it was out of use and signage showed work was in progress.
I (and many family members) have used this bridge innumerable times in my life and having jokingly said that if I won loads of money on the Lottery, I would pay for it to become a covered bridge - having got soaked many times walking across it. The evening staff on duty didn't have any information so when I visited mum today, I went back to ask the staff about the bridge's future. It seems the contractors are inspecting it to assess whether its structure is safe enough to refurbish. I do hope so, mainly for nostalgic reasons but also because the newer bridge and lift are at the far end of the platform!
I also found out the station is celebrating its 180th birthday in November and there will be three days of celebrations! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.