Garden and Forest, harvesting and collecting

We woke up to a sunny but cool and windy day. It felt good to be outside and I started the day sorting some camper van stuff so it is ready for a single overnight. Then I did a little harvesting of broad beans before heading off on the e-bike to look for lingon berries and mushrooms in the forest. There are berries but it isn't a great lingon year. I found a few south-facing places where the berries had grown to normal size and ripened fully and were growing in quantity. However, these places were few and far between. I picked about a litre of berries. There were many mushrooms but most seemed to be non-edible or old, tatty and worm-eaten. I did find one beautiful mushroom (extra) though I had no idea what it was. I took the picture for identification and left it growing peacefully. In the evening, poring over the mushroom books, I realised it was a young fly agaric, Amanita muscaria. It may be the brown variety, or the classic red may appear later.
When I got home again I dug up the first of this year's potatoes. It's been a few years since we grew potatoes but I invested in a packet of Amandine seed potatoes in the spring. It contained 10 small potatoes and cost about £5. However, the first plant I took up had over 10 potatoes and they tasted delicious so it was a successful investment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.