The second half of life..

By twigs

At Home and Abroad

Robin Morrison was a New Zealand photographer whose work I first came across in my early days in New Zealand.  I quickly fell in love with it.  His style is distinctive and depicts uniquely Kiwi people in uniquely Kiwi settings, often their homes.  It's the small details you notice in his images later that make you start to really appreciate his eye as a photographer.  His images were usually all about the people - how odd that I should love his work but be a photographer who rarely photographs people.  Maybe that could be a project for me....?  Check out the extra for a glimpse of his typical portrait style.  Notice the mirror and the ladies hands?  The black & white wedding image on the shelf to the left....is it this lady all those years ago...?
Sadly, Robin Morrison passed away in 1993 aged 48.  

I've been very uncomfortable today so have hunkered down to a slow, almost static indoor lifestyle.  I found myself flipping through this book with my older eyes and seeing lots of new things in each image.  I still love his work - a social history statement on the simplicity that life once was.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.