Fuentes3

By Fuentes3

Santiago pilgrim

A pilgrim, a very pleasant man, stopped me today in Amandi to ask the way to Peón, and wasn´t impressed by my answer, which was "not on this road". Also dubious about my accent, which he thought wasn´t Spanish. So he was all the more unconvinced about the directions I gave him, which were that he had to cross the main road and then take the right fork and then he´d get back to the official Camino route - and if, as he was convinced, there was a footpath off it that would take him to Peón, then it would be signposted. A very nice man, and very understanding, but very unconvinced. So I wasn´t entirely surprised, 10 minutes later, when I overtook him walking still on the road he had  first latched onto. Which meant he´d disregarded my careful and entirely correct directions. I stopped and told him that he´d missed all the Camino routes but that if he turned back now and took the first lane on his left, that would intersect with his route. He looked at me very doubtfully and said no, that couldn´t be so, because there was no waymark indicating that lane. Well no, I said, there won´t be, because you´re now on a road that no pilgrims will be on. He nodded slowly and doubtfully and walked to the lane I´d pointed out,  watching me carefully, and I drove off. I´m in no doubt really that as soon as I was out of sight he planned to disregard me and continue on his chosen road. No more I could do, except live and let live...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.