Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Entangled

I feel I've done a whole day's work today - I know it wasn't actually work, most of the time, but I've not had a minute until the evening, and then I fell asleep ... I spent the morning, from 9.15am till 1pm, at Zoom meeting of lay leaders from the diocese, looking at the idea of "calling" and what it entailed in our context. Our new bishop gave an excellent keynote and we spent much of the time in breakout rooms discussing and sharing. Excellent - yes; tiring - utterly.

After lunch I went out with my pal before she goes off for over a week's holiday. We went "round the block" from her Blairmore house - up the hill, through the forest, down to Strone and back along the road. On the way, before we entered the forest, we passed this reasonably intact car entwined in brambles and embedded in grass; presumably it'll stay here until it rusts into a heap. We walked and climbed over 6 kilometres - not very far really, but quite strenuous. 

Because I'm so tired I can't keep my eyes open, I'm going to leave a poem that I wrote 18 years ago about "calling". I think it sums up what I feel about the idea. And you might say we were entangled too ...

WHO - ME?

The call was surely
Ambivalent? An absurd
Counterpoint to this 
Daily rhythm of the net and sea?
Not a task for one so
Ordinary. 
                   But no,
There was no error in 
Understanding, and the path
Leads still from that familiar shore
On towards this urban hill
Where the stark crossed shadow
Bears no breeze-caught sail
And the wind's whisper keeps no way
Against the breath of God.

© C.M.M. 30/07/03

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.