Austin

I do love to see all the different dogs at parkrun. It was the first time Austin had been and for me, the first time as RD.

I had a weird dream about the defibrillator overnight to add to my various anxieties. Then I couldn't work out how to turn on the very basic event phone. Fortunately Jo has as IT degree and was able to assist (she is a similar age to me and the degree, in truth, was not helpful)

Jim is not such a fan of dogs this week he was bitten and required surgery. Elaine picked him up so that he could join us and I was pleased that he had the PA switched on and ready for my briefing. One less thing to worry about.

A few minutes into the event and the phone rang as someone had fallen. Fortunately it wasn't serious and the first aid kit was more than adequate to deal with it.

We then had another 'incident' as a first time finisher was mistaken by one of the timekeepers for someone else who had run through the funnel several.times. The timekeeper, panicked and declared quite loudly that she wasn't registering the person who became VERY upset. It definitely spoiled the experience for both of them. Such a shame.

I spent the afternoon gardening and then finished the day with Scandi drama and a bottle of red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.