Misty morning at Bakkeveen

... Or at least, that's what today's blip should have been called. Yesterday Ton asked if I could join him and Peter at the Mandeveld area in Bakkeveen, to shoot the blooming heather at sunrise. Sure! Herman was going as well and a time was agreed. I prepared last night, charging batteries, emptying memory cards: the usual stuff. I also set the alarm at 4.30 (aka silly 'o clock) on my Apple Watch. I made sure the watch was charged so I could wear it while sleeping. It then vibrates to wake me up. In that way, I wouldn't wake up Martine.

Somehow, when I woke up this morning, it was not 4.30 but 6.30! Did the alarm not go off? Was I just sleeping too deep to be awakened by the vibrations on my wrist? I don't know what happened, but the end result is I was way too late. I rushed out of bed to contact Ton and Herman. Thankfully, they had not waited for me and were already shooting the heather.

Now that I was awake anyway, I decided to get out and shoot some local scenes. Just like in Bakkeveen, we had some mist here as well so I went on my bicycle to find some scenes. I already had one location in mind: the location of this blip. I did shoot some nice images there and two of them can be found in the extras.

The shot you're looking at now was at a spot I found while cycling around through the mist after sunrise. I also included another image of this scene in the extras. I'm pleased with this!

Let me finish by once again apologizing to Herman, Peter and Ton. Sorry guys, I will make it up somehow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.