a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The one that got away

Inspired by yesterday's talk by landscape photographer Paul Mitchell, I set my alarm sufficiently early to enable me to take some early morning landscape shots. The clear outside app suggested that the sky might be looking quite interesting at 6am for the start of golden hour as there would be just a small percentage of cloud cover.   It did however indicate that by 7 the cloud cover would be increasing significantly, but with sunrise at 6:40am I though I might just get lucky.  When the alarm went off I popped my head out of the window to check the sky, and it did indeed look worth getting up for.

As I walked down to the river at 6am things were looking very promising indeed.  There was a nice level of low mist over the fields and a small amount of low cloud across the hills.   I started off with this shot of trees reflecting in the river, before moving up the river cliff to get a suitable vantage point for the sunrise.

However, as I waited it became increasingly clear that the sunrise was going to be a dissapointment.  The clouds rolled in from the south and east surprisingly swiftly and minutes after I took the extra the sky was looking distinctly bland, with sufficient low cloud to remove any prospect of a more interesting shot.  I quite like the mistiness of the extra, but its not the shot I was hoping for.  Still, I am sure there will be other opportunities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.