Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Not waving but drowning ….

It’s a return to Sychnant today - the area which seems to have taken over from the RSPB reserve as our current favourite walking place. It’s still relatively flat, and so unchallenging - but I’m really hoping to increase my fitness levels next week! More walking and exercise, less eating etc …. 

The return to the small lake sees more canine swimming, but without the cuteness of Bonnie and her black lab friend I resist temptation. There are two men optimistically fishing, but any hope of peace and quiet must have long since been abandoned as groups of walkers, families and dog walkers keep trundling past. I arrive alone, G having decided to walk a short circuit of some of the hills above us, and sit to wait for dragonflies. Apparently, I’ve just missed a grass snake swimming across  - just not in the right place at the right time …..

There is little airborne activity today - too many people maybe, but I notice a small area of activity on the water’s surface over towards the other bank.  It seems to be a dragonfly - or is it two? Certainly the extent of disturbance suggests the latter, but surely it’s too late in the season for mating or for territorial struggles. Eventually I realise it must be a single golden ringed dragonfly that’s flown too close to the water and been unable to fly off - and of course, as our longest species, it explains the extent of the disturbance. It’s certainly too far out for any rescue to be attempted, so I’m afraid I just record its struggle, hoping it may be able to lift itself from the water ….. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.