Little Victories

When I moved across from Norfolk to Wales, bringing my bulb collection with me, I was not sure whether they would all relocate happily.   It takes at least a year round to be able to tell as the first season's flowers were formed while the plants were Norfolk grown.    So far, as I repot and as things start reappearing in the garden, things are looking good.   The bulbs in pots under glass have done well although Narcissus Fly grubs have decimated some of the narcissus - that's something I can take measures to reduce in future.   In the garden it's early days but the reappearance of Colchicum macrophyllum, pictured today, is a good sign.   Grown in a deep, very free draining raised bed in Norfolk, it seems happy in a similar bed here despite the wetter winter.   The flowers on this one are about twice the size of yesterdays offering which is just a pink blur in the background here.

Another day where more bulbs were repotted , I'm just over a quarter of the way through the job now.   Two loads of laundry dried nicely on the line above my head and we ate well as Jamie made Spinach and Ricotta tortellini for our lunch.   Fresh ingredients and home-made pasta.   The recent gift of a pasta maker from Clara has been much appreciated :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.