Black Willow and Bench

Another fresh skiff of snow overnight. I got the idea in my head that I needed to see the boardwalk at Millbrook Marsh in the fresh snow. So off I went.

The only tracks on the boardwalk before mine were those of rabbits and birds. So I had pretty much unbroken snow to myself. And, I admit, I took great joy in making tracks, just like a kid!

The sun was trying to come out, but the clouds refused to give way. A few snow flurries scooted around to liven things up.

I walked most of the boardwalk, admired the new snow. Enjoyed the contrast of the dark and white. Took lots of monochrome shots. The boardwalk has such great lines, which seemed especially contrasty in the snow.

You've seen this bench and black willow tree once before, but from a different angle, in my October 4 blip. The tree has such character: I always admire its round, bushy shape, its gnarled branches. And the bench beside it has a great view of Thompson Run and the little wooden bridge over it.

The song I've selected to accompany this is only peripherally related, and I picked it because it has the word willow in the lyrics. Enjoy the wonderful harmonies of Brad Paisley and the incomparable Alison Krauss, as they sing the sad but lovely Whiskey Lullaby.

We laid her next to him beneath the willow
While the angels sang a whiskey lullaby
La la la la la la la . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.