Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

I always wanted a little puffer

A stay indoors day today. No snow here just a wind that would blow the bits off a brass monkey. The next Port Appin project takes me right out of my comfort zone so much research has been necessary before I even opened the box. I'm half way there as it's a kit of parts - but what the heck are they all?

The Clyde "Puffer" is a traditional coastal trading boat that was once found on the sea around the west coast of Scotland. It has a flat bottom to allow it to be beached on islands with no quay. The boat would then be unloaded at low tide and then re-floated at high tide to head off to the next port of call. A crew of four would live on board.

Source: ]http://www.pagenumberone.co.uk/layouts/puffers/index.htm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.