Hermes

Back to work with a bump.
Lovely first patient is completely deaf and lip reads so I armed myself with a clear visor for the first time only to walk through and discover he’d been sick all over the practice. Without too much detail it was mainly saliva all over him and the floor.
What to do?
He’d had a hellish bus ride to get here and he and his wife, deaf too, were both pretty shaken. Covid rules applied so I could only hand them the dettol wipes and ask them to clean up as much as they could and continue to see him…. I have no idea if this was the best plan or not.. but the appointment got worse with him revealing that since I’d seen him last he had oesophageal cancer, hence the sickness, a hellish year and today, yup, I had to tell him he would have to give up driving as he is below the legal limit for driving due to dry age related macular degeneration.
We both had a wee cry.
The day continued in this vein so was glad to get out into the sunshine. Daughters school shows have been missing in action for three weeks now and numerous emails and finally the mystery is solved. Clarks sent me this photo from Hermes, silly me, of course I’d know to look inside the garden furniture table!!! ( no card was left)
Fajitas for tea and then a lazy evening. How come a day at work tires me more than a day in the hills?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.