Kursedtea

By Kursedtea

A visitor from another place

It sounds like a tedious repetition, but he is so big. He has outgrown all his trousers, gone up another shoe size and his puffy jacket I bought in the hopes it would do two winters is now looking snug.

He began the day writing his name in mirror writing on his blackboard. He spent the rest of the day deep in imaginary narrative play. All the talk of parallel universes etc. must come from spending the day with a small child around the age of four. He was with us but also concurrently in another world thinking and talking to his toys.

However at the same time he can suddenly leap back into this universe, fully and very grown up. His current favourite thing to do is to talk and reveal things to complete strangers. The lady at M&S "Hi my name is Callum. This is my Mummy and Daddy and my baby. These are my new socks. My old socks are too small. Did you know that?".

On Thursday he went with my Mum to have pizza for lunch for a treat. He 'introduced' her to the waiter: "This is my granny. Her name is Hazel." My Mum said it almost sounded like he was 'setting' her up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.