A walk in the park and Happy New Year.

A warm although quite overcast day. 

We walked up to the park. Very quiet. Children are back at school and everyone else must have thought it was going to rain. Nice to have the place to ourselves .  

Theyve replanted  the flowers round the trees surrounding the bandstand. A lovely splash of colour! The flower displays in the park and in town have looked  wonderful this year. 

The sun came out when we got home and it became very warm. This has always been the same , once the children are back at school.  I would replan the lessons, or as many as I could so the children could be outside in the morning, when the air was fresh but the sun was warm. The children enjoyed it and produced some good work. 

This has always been a New Year for me rather than in January, over 5 decades of starting a new class, first as a pupil and then as a teacher. I quite miss the excitement  and anticipation of having a new class to teach. I thoroughly enjoyed being a teacher, the interaction with the children,  but I cant say I miss the  bureaucracy which became increasingly more demanding, very time consuming and  often unnecessary . Such is the way of the world! 

Too nice to be inside this afternoon doing housework, so I sat in the garden and read before taking Fletch out for a short stroll  by the dock. Not a breath of wind and the water like smooth silver. 

Plenty of time to hoover when it rains.

I hope everyone is enjoying good weather. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.