NextSteps

By LynnH

Forrest

Forrest is a ten yr old cocker who was very badly treated up to being 18 months old when the breeder took him back off the owner. He is the reason I ended up going to college to do my degree in Canine Behaviour and Training as I had no idea how to sort him out when I took him on. He did really well and was settled and happy.

Sadly I had to leave him when my marriage broke up, but I was assured and very confident that he, and the blue roan cocker we had would be well looked after. I had no reason to doubt it.
My daughter has made several comment over the last few months about how "sad" Forrest seems when she visits.


He came to be groomed today and is not going back. He has lost a tremendous amount of weight and his fur was matted, and he really has lost hi sparkle and is very "flat". I know he hasn't been ill treated, but I have a real worry that there is an underlying health problem that has not been noticed. I ended up having to muzzle him to do the first rough clip so then just gave him a nice bath and will tidy him up tomorrow, I am sure he was hurting when I was touching parts of him.

I have found out he isn't up to date with his boosters so hasn't been seen by his vet. who would have noticed something as she knows the boys well.

Its not going to be easy having him here with Moss as he still has some funny little ways, plus Moss is still a bit unsure of other dogs. The next couple of weeks will tell, plus first thing monday I am taking him to my vets for his boosters and a good check up. I need to be calm and watch them, as well as giving both of them the reassurance and love they need.

On top of all the legal stuff on Friday this is another, fingers crossed, issues sorted.

I've used this photo to kcik start my challenge again after a few missed weeks. Forrest is a huge part of my past and molded my future so it is so special having him back with me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.