To paint or not to paint, that was the question.

It was the question but, despite the frequent heavy showers today, we got the jet wash out and started to clean up the patio's from the recent carnage of cutting down the hedges. 
Marlane then asked if I could see if it would clean off the green algae and dust from the fences. It did a magnificent job and we decided that we don't need to paint them. I think the last time we painted them must have been about 23 years ago. We used 'Ducks-Back' fence paint by Cuprinol. It's very waxy. The colour soaks into the wood but the wax stays on the surface and, as you can see, protects the wood seemingly forever! I had turned to the panel I'm doing purely for the photograph, I then finished off the left hand fence squares.
The fence panels on the right hand side of the garden definitely need replacing though, probably could have got away with it if a couple of the posts hadn't rotted through at the bottom.
Afterwards I was going to clean out the car, which was full of twigs, dust, leaves, and debris from the many trips to the tip.
I decided to give myself a break and took it to the local car hand wash place. Talking to one of the men there they are mostly from Kurdistan, a brave race that are receive much aggression from Turkey and Iraq, in the Sadam Hussein days anyway but I doubt their lot has improved much. I have a great respect for the Kurds, fierce fighters against Islamic State too.
They are also incredibly splendid at car cleaning too, you'd think it had just come out of the showroom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.