helenann

By helenann

Kew Gardens Special Outing

Today was a red letter day for  my Mother  and her sister when I took them to their  favourite place, Kew Gardens. It was gloriously sunny and hot, probably the last such day for a while. 
My main blip shows my Mother in the Water Lily House. The water is coloured  black using a harmless dye which enhances the appearance of the water lilies.
The first extra shows my Mother, Doris,sitting on the Verdun bench, with  her sister F on her left and her old friend J (in the blue dress)on her right. J lives near Kew and I had managed to arrange for her to  meet us there.
The Verdun bench is so named because it was made from an oak tree which was grown from an acorn brought back to the UK from the Verdun battlefield in1917. The tree grew until 2013 ( I don't know if it was felled or fell of its own accord) and the  bench was made from its timber and erected in 2013. 
The other  extras show the  wonderful Davies Alpine  House and the  outside of the Princess of Wales Conservatory. We didn't venture inside the conservatory because of the heat, but it was pleasantly cool in the alpine house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.