Not sure about this...

Today I went to my first in-person event in over 18 months.  

I had been invited to speak back in August when COVID numbers looked a LOT better, but even then I wasn't sure about indoor networking.  Given the figures at the moment, I basically went in, gave my presentation, ignoring the networking aspects of the event completely.  It's very strange presenting to a corporeal audience after so long... 

At least no one had to say "sorry you're breaking up" or "you're on mute" which was a nice relief, although someone did unplug something from a PC connected to the PA in the middle of my talk so I was interrupted by the "device unplugged" sound.  My improvised comment "I think they've unplugged me but I've got enough charge to get to the end of the presentation" got a laugh!

This was taken from the sound desk when I was returning my microphone pack - the person on screen is the keynote speaker, Kate Forbes, Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Economy, who was on a bit after I was.  She was unable to attend in person as she was isolating as a close contact of someone with COVID...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.