A wee bit over-rated.

I've often wondered why us mad English will insist on bunging un-necessary words into names. The first which springs to mind is the Avocado "pear??", which is no relation whatsoever so a pear except a shape similarity.

Yesterday I met another in Morrison's. I'll give them 10/10 for still continuing with their unusual veggies. However, the Pepino is related to taties and tomatoes and not to any of the cucurbitae or melon family. WHY in the name of all that's odd do the English speakers call it a Pepino melon? Isn't it sufficient just to say "That's a Pepino"?
That said, I must admit it tastes more like a melon than any other fruit, which it would continue to do if merely called a Pepino. NOT very sweet, NOT a lot of flavour, WON'T be repeated, but it's another flavour we've experienced.

I was wondering how the £$%^&*  -  1-2" of snow had ground the country to a standstill.
THEN I saw the 22:00 news footage of some of the West Cumbrian roads with their 4-6' drifts, and cars stranded on roads which defeated the snow-ploughs.
Apparently a 27yr old youth, further down country, was found dead in a field. It seems he started to walk home after a night out and didn't make it. Rain, further down's, managed to collapse a house and kill the resident.

Welcome to Spring folks. Less of the Global warming if you don't mind, even I am starting to feel the cold, I'm actually wearing two layers of clothing indoors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.