The second half of life..

By twigs

Kev's cuzzie

I had the pleasure today of a drive out to the country to try to photograph a "white sparrow" that has been hanging out at a farm.  The lady of the farm had posted the a question on facebook asking whether there were any locals who might be interested in photographing it to try to help with identification and also to simply record the bird's presence.  I contacted her yesterday and headed up to their farm today.

As soon as I arrived the farmer was able to point in to the bird out as it hopped around a paddock in search of food.  Sure enough, it continued to seek food in just a few locations making it possible to plan where I thought I might get the best shots.  Unfortunately, I didn't figure this all out very quickly so by the time I had settled on a location I'd been there a couple of hours plus and I was beginning to feel the cold.  Still, I've arranged with C that it's OK to return in a few days of so and try again.

The shots I did get were very distant so heavily cropped and not nearly as good as I hope to be able to get.  This will be a lesson in patience which is a good thing.  The subject of today's blip however is definitely not the star of the show but rather, a typically comical, gallumping gorging kereru who was hanging out with his mates in some nearby trees.  Unlike Snowy (my name for her based on her colour and the proximity of the snow!) Kev's cuzzy didn't mind my presence in the least.  My best shot of Snowy herself can be seen in extras....not great, but not bad.  And we think now that she's a finch - probably a chaffinch.

PS map location is just very general!

In COVID news, there were 13 new cases today.  Slowly but surely declining numbers.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.